Smaller and smaller

When I told one of my friends that I have three flights on three consecutive days before I get to my final destination, Luang Prabang in northern Laos, he commented, “Yeah, and the planes must get smaller and smaller.” He was right… Here’s to relative scale a KLM 777 (Amsterdam – Kuala Lumpur), an AirAsia Airbus 320 (Kuala Lumpur – Vientiane) and a Lao Airlines ATR-72 (Vientiane, Laos – Luang Prabang, Laos). Luckily I’m not going any further. Otherwise it would have been by longboat (which is kind of true). Heart of Darkness anyone?


~ by Leonard on October 23, 2010.

3 Responses to “Smaller and smaller”

  1. Nothing beats a B777 for long haul..

  2. Hey Peter! I too love the 777 for long haul. Absolutely the best. And finally it’s ‘safe’ to fly KLM to Asia since they have finally retired their old 747’s from most of the routes. You won’t find me on a 12 hour flight anymore without individual on-demand seatback entertainment systems haha… And with the economy comfort seats from KLM its just as comfortable as an Asian airline. Hope all is well in your neck of the woods!

  3. Leonard,
    I used to like the B747s’, but, they are showing their age now. Of course, flying upstairs in a B747 is great,and I have done that on a few occasions. The best part was back in the 1990’s when I used to live in Japan, and would often get up the front on the trip. Did about 4 landings into Tokyo behind the pilot, and did a trip from Cairns to Brisbane right from take off to touch down…They were fun times. My profile photo was taken at 39,000 feet with a 8 mm circular fisheye lens . The co-pilot too the photo. Hope that you are enjoying your trip..

Leave a Reply

