A family visit – in pictures

Today was spent visiting with my friend Savuth and his family. After three emotional and physically tiring days I am going to let some pictures tell today’s stories (Let’s see, 24 pictures, should be worth about 24,000 words if my math is correct). The drive out there and back also gave me my first chance to see the condition of some nearby countryside.

It was great, albeit tiring, to see the kids again given their enthusiasm for my visits and naturally nearly boundless energy. I always love the food his wife cooks and it was very exciting to see the plot of land Savuth has recently purchased to move his family from tenants to landowners, a status which in a place like Cambodia still means a lot to an individual, his family and the society at large.

It was cool when he showed me the sale and registration documents which still bear thumb prints versus signatures as the primary proof of identity. And I discovered today that kids all over the world do love Dr Suess’ “Cat in the Hat” series even if they don’t quite understand the words. I guess my gestures and acting was better than I thought. Maybe a second career on Sesame Street?

Enjoy the stories.

October 10 – Family visit

(Thinking of visiting the temples of Angkor Wat? Don’t forget to check out my friend Savuth’s tuk tuk services!)

~ by Leonard on October 10, 2009.

6 Responses to “A family visit – in pictures”

  1. Lenny, these photos bring to life places I’ve not visited. There is such beauty in the faces of the children. Thank you for taking us along on this adventure. Peace

    • Thank you anonymous for dropping by and taking the time to comment. I’m glad to have you aboard for the trip. By seeing things through each other’s eyes, in this case you through mine, maybe another time me through your’s, that we can see the things we ourselves are not able to see. Peace and love.

  2. Wow Lenny – looks like you are having a very special time there. I’m sure you slept like a baby next to those kids…too precious. Neil

  3. Hi Lenny
    I loved your pictorial family story – great photos – but the real impact for me was the kind and respectful relationship that you show with a resourceful family that is well on the way to growing strong. I got the feeling that they are probably like family to you now.I hope that the girls get at least the same education chances as the boys [ I always support girls – you’d be aware of the “Why’ I am sure] and that every aspect of living improves for all. As my “disposable dollar” is fully committed to educating my latest two orphaned girls in Sri Lanka and also to a village school there, I have to be realistic about anything else I take on, much as I wish to do more. However, did you take the Cat in a Hat to your family or can such books be bought in Siem Reap? I have many similar books here but not the luggage allowance to take more than one or two. I wish I had given more time to our Siem Reap visit but I had no idea of the place when I booked everything. I look forward to your next installment.

    Regarding Sri Lanka, I hope to have a much improved website live before December – just waiting on final tweaks!

    Best wishes

    Archi Lorraine

  4. Hi Archi!

    Great to share my stories with you and I am pleased you like. I am with you on the girl thing for sure. It has become quite clear through so many things, that one of the keys to development in under-developed countries is equal education and opportunities for girls and women. And in the case of my friend’s family, so far they seem absolutely as committed to the girls’ education as the boys so that’s good. I brought a lot of books with me. I was just, exactly to the ounce, on the weight limit but did that by putting most of the books in my carry-on which they rarely weigh if it looks the right size even though most airlines also have a weight limit for carry-on. I also left some clothes out figuring I can get cheap enough shirts or pants here and in Laos if I need some more.

    I hear from so many people and read often on the forum that they wish they had given more time to their Siem Reap stop. The conception that 3 or even 2 full days is ‘sufficient’ is as you now know a MISconception that still lingers. I am going to try and attack that issue on my Cambodian website (www.angkortuktuk.net) as my next website revision.

    Look forward to seeing your new website and really you shouldn’t feel like you should be doing more as it sounds like you are doing wonderful things in the corner of the world you have chosen to spread the love. But I know how you feel. I have days when I feel like I should really go through all my savings as it is often hard to justify or maybe accept that by some fluke of luck my primitive ancestors turned left to go towards Europe and some other kid’s turned towards Asia or stayed in Africa, geographies that historically just have so much less development chances and individual opportunities. Why me and not them? But we all do what we can. And just imagine what would actually happen if everyone cared!

    Be well! Leonard

Leave a Reply

